Playbar 2 with HDMI

• 5 August 2014
  • 3 replies

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am an AV integration consultant. I am currently working with a residential customer on their sound requirements for a refurbished living space and they have shown a personal interest in your 5.1 Playbar setup.

Having looked into this I'm afraid that I just cannot recommend this product to them at this time. It's a real shame as Sonos has always made great products in the past and I feel with this one you have dropped the ball somewhat. How can I recommend a setup that costs £1500+ that is not truly 5.1 without a specific TV or extra switching equipment and even then there would still be no support for DTS audio from Blu-Ray players.

I have always loved Sonos. I have specified it to customers for their multi room audio requirements in the past on numerous occasions. With this particular product I just feel dissappointed by Sonos. I think they have let themselves and more importantly, a lot of customers down.

With all that being said. What is to be done about this Sonos? How will you redeem yourself from such a short fall. The answer in my opinion is simple. Stop. Just stop making this product right now. Shelve it, bin it or whatever and get back to the drawing board. Your customers will respect you if you hold your hands up and say "We messed up here and we're going to put it right". Come back with a truly amazing product. One that warrants to wear the Sonos logo.