5.2 surround for huge room

I am an installer for a Sonos retailer, we've sold a customer a play bar 5.1 package with the sub and two play 1s, however the room is huge and the sub can only be placed on either end of the seating area, so it ends up sounding unbalanced. The customer would like to add another Sonos sub to the system to balance out the bass with a sub on both ends. Normally this is easy in a typical surround scenario, but after agreeing with the customer, I did a quick google and seem to have discovered that 5.2 surround is not supported! Are you guys crazy??? This is like saying "no" to an effortless SUB sale, AND making this customer rethink his decision to go with Sonos for surround. He also has a Sonos connect, with a big amplifier and zone volume controller connected to speakers throughout the house, but the connect (non-amp) did not pair with the sub (I tried this before setting up the play bar) so the only solution I could come up with was to have a wireless sub kit and non-Sonos (KEF is solid sounding and compact like Sonos) subwoofer connected to the big amplifier's sub output or the Sonos connect's sub output. This would only work for playing music when they're grouped, it would still sound weird when watching TV, of course. This is no good!!! We could easily sell this customer another 2-4 Sonos SUBs for all over the home, and they aren't cheap, you guys must make a good buck when they sell, so let us frikkin sell some subs! Please explain if there is a real hard limitation or if this is just an implementation issue. If it is possible that a second sub be added to the play bar system via future software updates, and this is something being considered, we may be able to keep the 5.1 system Sonos, otherwise since it is currently impossible to have a complete solution, and we did prewire for the possibility of implementing a receiver based surround solution we would have to recommend returning the play bar, sub and play 1s in exchange for another