FLAC error - Unsupported sample rate

• 19 December 2015
  • 14 replies

Badge
I'm trying to play some FLAC files on my SONOS system and I get the error message: "unable to play ..... it is encoded at unsupported sample rate 9600 hz" I've never seen this error message before. Does this mean the end of the road or is there a work around? Could I re-digitize them at a different sample rate because my other FLAC files play fine. Maybe SONOS has plans to change their specs or is it the old debate about whether the human ear can appreciate the difference in quality or not? Any help would be appreciated as I'm new to this game.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

14 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +22
This article details the file types that are supported. You can re-encode the tracks that aren't supported.

https://sonos.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/80/~/supported-audio-formats
Sonos have recently confirmed that they've no plans to natively support higher sampling rates. To quote from that article: "the math just isn’t there". It that respect the're in good company.

They concede that on-the-fly downsampling is something worth considering.
Badge
Thanks for your replies guys. What's the best software to use to re-encode the files?
Thanks for your replies guys. What's the best software to use to re-encode the files?

Clearly it's a matter of personal preference but I don't think you can go wrong with dbPoweramp, it has a batch conversion mode so you can select a folder of files and it'll chomp through the lot pretty quickly.
Incidentally you probably meant "96000 Hz", I've never seen 9600 Hz files before, they wouldn't sound very good! Don't forget you'll need to knock the bit-depth down to 16-bit as well.
Badge
Thanks again for all your useful advice!
I've never seen 9600 Hz files before, they wouldn't sound very good!