Answered

Connecting turntable to a Sonos system that uses hard-wired speakers

• 3 April 2024
  • 2 replies

Novice here on tech details on Sonos System and need help with what I need to do to add a turntable to our system. 

What we have: Hard-wired (non-Sonos) in wall speakers spread through 3 levels of residential home. They are connected to our internet with Sonos ports and an amp of some sort (not sure it’s a Sonos amp, but that might be there too). 10-15 speakers. The wiring has been run to a utility room where our internet and all the Sonos components are centralized (the brain so to speak). 

What I want to do: Add a turntable (either Pro-ject or similar with built-in amp) to our living room. 

Question: How do I add this turntable to our existing system so that the records play over our wired speakers (and their various groupings on the app)?

-Do I need a Port (does that speak wirelessly to our existing system?), or an Amp (trying not to duplicate components we already own), or would and Era 100 speaker plugged into the turntable communicate wirelessly with our system in the utility room?

Any insight into how this works would be much appreciated. I tried calling Sonos tech support, but seemed to have a disconnect between the situation and possible solutions. 

Many thanks! 

icon

Best answer by Ken_Griffiths 3 April 2024, 23:58

View original

2 replies

Just use the line-in RCA connection on the existing Sonos Port or Amp, that will be linked direct to your TT with built-in pre-amp. If the TT has no pre-amp just add one between the TT and Sonos line-in.

You can read more here:

and here:

Userlevel 7

Hi

Welcome to the community!

Your options as you mentioned are:

1. Use a Sonos Port to send the Turntable (TT) audio wirelessly to other Sonos components (i.e. speakers or Amp). You would connect the TT with built-in pre-amp to the Ports RCA input