Question

Sonos Speaker 1 Room configuration

• 16 February 2018
  • 6 replies

Hi All

I’m brand new to Sonos and have bought 2x Sonos ones (using in stereo) and also a Play 3.

I have a large sideboard and have set my pair of ones up at either end with the play 3 in the middle.

Is this OK and what would the best settings be?

Or

Am I totally mad and I shouldn’t have them all in the same room?

Thanks in advance

Liam

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +6
For me it would depend on the size of the room. Two Play 1's were good enough by themselves where I had them set up. If the two ones were adequate for the space I would put the three in another room.
For me it would depend on the size of the room. Two Play 1's were good enough by themselves where I had them set up. If the two ones were adequate for the space I would put the three in another room.

The room is quite large.

If I just gave the 1’s on I think the sound is fab.

If I have the 1s and the Play 3 on I think the sound is better (a bit more meat and less tiny)

And if after having both on I go back to just having the 1’s they sound a bit tinny. I don’t know if this is because the play3 is a bit more base’y?

As it’s set up in the middle and they both have stereo I’m assuning it does not matter and interfere with the stereo setting anyway (correct me if I’m wrong as I know literally nothing lol)
Userlevel 4
Badge +6
Ok, in a larger room a three would be a good way to beef up the ones without going to the expense of a sub. The extra speaker in the three would probably help with the low end a fair bit.

Down the road you could consider a second three for that room and use the ones in bedrooms or kitchen perhaps. Just something to consider.
Brill,

My next question is do I create 2 rooms and then put them in 1 group.