Only playing half a song before skipping to the next song

• 14 July 2014
  • 7 replies

I just purchased my sonos system today and was excited to set it up. I downloaded the sonos controller from the App Store for my iPhone 5S. I have a bridge and a play 1. I started playing music through the "on this phone" option. I added one of my playlists to the queue and started listening, however, each song only plays half way through before it skips to the next song. Is there a setting somewhere that I'm missing? Not a happy camper right now 😞

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +22
Have you tried or setup to play music from any sources other than "on this iphone"  With "on this iphone" you are relying on the wifi connection your iphone has more than the Sonos system.  Just curious if your having other skipping problems with any other sources.

It is some type of interference most likely causing.  As far as interference goes - make sure the bridge you have hooked to your router is as far from router as possible (space/cable wise).  You don't want the bridge unit right up against your router.

Do you know what channel Sonos is on compared to your home system.  I like to keep Sonos on Channel 1 and home system wifi channel 6 or above.
Hi Chris, Thanks for your reply. I haven't tried any other controlling sources yet, I was too excited to get started. I am streaming through pandora right now and not having any issues with song skipping. My sonos wireless channel is on 6 (not sure about my home network...I'm not too tech savvy) and my router and bridge are separated by at least three feet. It's most likely operator error but most of my music is stored on my iPhone so I'd like to figure out which piece of the puzzle I'm missing.
Userlevel 7
Badge +22