New sonos products 2014/2015

• 11 November 2014
  • 13 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +15
  • Headliner I
  • 1032 replies
Hi all,

Okay I have to ask - we have all (i hope) seen the new boost (which I just purchased today ;o) but what about the Playbase or other/new product upcoming. Plus a friend tonight said he might hold out on getting sonos as new product range incoming

I'm just getting into sonos and what my whole house (money forthcoming) kitted out with sonos products but what I don't want is to buy a product now and in two month sonos bring out or replace a product range I have just got.

So i don't think you will tell but a heads-up on new product releases would be good unless I've missed the press release on this site.

13 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +22
First - I have no knowledge.

But I would think because the Play:3's and Play:1's are Sonosnet2 they are unlikely to change.  I think you would be safe buying any of them and be future proof. 

I don't think you are going to see a lot of changes in the existing lineup - maybe just some additions and maybe something such as an updated Connect:Amp or Playbar.  But I don't really see that soon.

Sonos has done well with not obsoleting older equipment (10 year old stuff still works fine) so I wouldn't get overly worried about it if the unit does what you need it to do.
New product request again: eg. Sonos 2, a portable version with re chargeable battery with output power somewhere in between Sonos 1 and 3, and even a Sonos 4 somewhere between 3and 5 power output, should not be seen as a copy of Bose new portable range but would be great to have in the Sonos range, come on Sonos product guys, I want one for my backyard !!! Who else would like something like this from Sonos ???