How well does a Sonos Play:3 fill a warehouse?

• 14 January 2018
  • 2 replies

Userlevel 4
I work in a warehouse as my job, and as it's a tech shop we use an ex-display Play:3 as the upstairs music driver believe it or not! So, with that nice passive bass radiator and two mid-range and middle tweeter drivers how does it fill the upstairs warehouse?

Speaker placement:
It's on a shelf next to a cage container, and the area behind it is also fenced off (otherwise you fall downstairs).
Basically, the "walls" it's placed next to are acoustically transparent. You could argue it's theoretically placed in the middle of nowhere. No walls to encourage low-range frequencies.

Story:
I will keep it super short, I love my Sonos, so seeing the Play:3 come off of display for the new Sonos ONE I just plugged it in and rigged it up. So on shop floor, we have a Play:1, Play:5, Sonos ONE, Playbar/base and two SUBS on display. So not too shabby!

Trueplay?
No. Haven't managed to do that. The environment is always too loud and I also don't use an iPhone, and one of my colleagues probably won't let me use their iPhone anyway. It's hassle, sadly. I wonder what it would do to the bass if I did it though??

Verdict on sound:
Not my cup of tea. It's got very little bass. It's brilliant at mid-range and high though! The room is simply too spacious, and hasn't enough solid materials to help that sound. The Play:3 is definitely built for mid-sized rooms that are open!