Bought the Play 5 Gen2 & the Naim Mu So QB, one of them went back..... ( not the Play5! )

• 12 April 2016
  • 25 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge
Good evening all,

Firstly I'm new on here ( hello all ) so hope this is posted in the right section!

I am not new to HiFi equipment or wireless speakers ( I have had a rather bad habit for the last 20 years ) and have had and sold more stuff than I care to think about, but I am new to Sonos, well until this weekend that is! I wanted to share the following with you as I cannot see anywhere on the forums or the net a Naim vs. Sonos comparison.

Sunday afternoon, following a trip to my local John Lewis I returned home with a Play 5 Gen2 (£389) and the relatively new Naim Qu So QB (£595). I couldn't decide which one to go for and having any sort of meaningful demo was hopeless, Sonos Play 5 was connected to a Play 1, Play 3 and a Sonos soundbar which all seemed to playing at the same time on the Sonos stand, despite me trying to isolate the Play5 and even trying the line in option with the 3.5mm jack I brought with me as a last resort.( plus someone was streaming what sounded like Bangra music at a stupid level in the next isle on a BeoPlay A2, all very annoying ).

I went in to listen to the Mu-so QB and the bigger brother Mu-So (£895) and to be honest the new Zepplin ( sorry all, not the face.......). So I'm stood in front of the Mu-So QB and I'm streaming a few of my tried and tested "test" tracks from Spotify (offline) via Bluetooth and I am thinking to myself "that's not great". I would just like to mention at this stage that I did listen to the QB in Superfi Nottingham about a week ago and they had it hard wired and were streaming Hi Res ( not sure what format ) files to it and I must say whilst I wasn't crazy on the looks, it did sound pretty impressive. Hence the trip to JL to listen to it again but this time via Bluetooth.