Question

Are they updating the Play:1?

• 7 December 2016
  • 10 replies

Userlevel 4
With the current discount promotion on the play:1 I was thinking about getting a couple for my bathrooms.

But then I saw the magic words "or while supplies last" at http://www.sonos.com/en-au/shop/play1.html. A discount + end of production is what Apple do when they want to clear stock ahead of a revised model. Are Sonos doing the same with the Play:1 ahead of a gen2? It is three years old now although still a great design.

So unless a refresh is definitely not pending I will hold off my purchase. Probably not what their marketing department intended...

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

10 replies

If they are, and I have no special knowledge either way, they certainly wouldn't announce it until it actually ships. People would stop buying the current version.

The real answer is "who knows?"

I imagine that the "while supplies lasts" means little, although they could be using it to restrict the number that they sell at a lower price (less profit).
Userlevel 4
The real answer is "who knows?"
Sonos knew. More usefully so did the FCC. The Play:1 was revised, with an FCC filing in October showing a change to the wireless front-end circuitry.
https://fccid.io/document.php?id=3166056

They've switched from this module:
http://www.skyworksinc.com/Product/956/SE2595L
to this:
http://www.skyworksinc.com/Product/975/SE5502L

I haven't looked inside a Play:1 so I can't assess the reasoning, maybe they weren't using the MIMO capability of the former and decided to save 50c per unit. It may also be more efficient, the data sheet suggests slightly higher gain for slightly lower power consumption, although probably indistinguishable at Sonos's Tx rates. For consumers probably not a substantial change.
Userlevel 7
Badge +22