Sonos Users with REAL High-End setups

Userlevel 1
Badge +1
Hello everyone,

after only reading these Forums for a very long time, I finally decided to start a new thread...

Anyhow, I am still looking for a REAL high end music setup with Sonos. I have been using Sonos now for 3 years and am absolutely delighted with the system, yet am looking to read from all of those users with high end audio systems based on Sonos.

I found the thread of the audiophile Sonos Player, yet it did not develop into much. Has anyone done a really nice high end Sonos setup?

To give you an idea of where I am coming from, here a bit of history on my own system.

I came originally from high end audio systems using CD Players and different loudspeaker systems. I used several high quality CD Players, such as T+A PreCD 2000 AC (small German company, that player was around EUR 4,000), then Madrigal Proceed CDP (the last one, around EUR 5,000).

Output on my system is done using high end speakers, mainly German high end active loudspeakers (yes you guessed right, I am German...) from Silbersand and Backes & Mueller. Therefore I am looking at high end systems in the range from EUR 10,000 upwards - why do I mention this? I'd like to avoid discussions about the controller being too expensive etc. As a customer coming from the high end market, the entire Sonos system seems awfully cheap anyhow.

Since I am a minimalist looking for high quality, my current setup is as follows:

Sonos ZP80 with CR100 (very soon CR200)
Linksys Router
Lacie 2Big Disc, 1 TB
Itunes as Music archiving software

This system is directly connected to my Silbersand Emotion 2 active loudspeakers along with a Backes & Mueller active subwoofer.

Of course, hooking up a ZP80 variable output is not exactly the best option, yet the output quality I am getting from my system is outstanding! All music is ripped in lossless data.

My question is: