Pre-Amp for Turntable - General Discussion

• 29 May 2019
  • 5 replies

Badge +1
Hello all -

I have been using my Sonos system to listen to records for a few years now. Overall, I am very pleased with the system but have been getting the "itch" to potentially upgrade components and have landed on looking at other phono stages. I currently have a Pro-Ject Phono Box S which I believe may have been a recommendation on one of these forums.

Generally, I was wondering what the community's experience has been with dedicated phono stages for TT's coupled with Sonos speakers? Are there other brands or models that folks have used and have liked or dislike? Are there specific things to look for when choosing a phono stage that may be better or worse for use with Sonos speakers? It seems logical to me that better phono stage amplification would ultimately create a better signal to be cast out to the system. Am I wrong here?

My apologies if this exists elsewhere on the forums, I have seen a lot of discussion about specific set-ups but couldn't find much general discussion.

Any thoughts are welcome!

Thanks,

5 replies

Phono pre-amps are basically commoditized. Like other things (DAC's), it is not rocket science to make a perfect pre-amp, and the most expensive part in the unit costs under $5. So paying extravagant amounts for one delves more into the area of snake oil than actual "quality" of reproduction. If you are one who chases that type of audiophile nirvana, then you may gain some thrill from upgrading, but that has nothing to do with actual audio coming out of your speakers. If you aren't that type, the Pro-Ject will serve you fine.
Badge +1