Question

new to sonos need some advice please on what to do

• 22 December 2019
  • 7 replies

Badge +1

Hi I’m new to Sonos need some advice on what to buy a few questions 

I have - 

zone 1 -living room with TV /ps4 , amp/hi fi with a turntable and lovely monitor audio floor standers 

walk through in to the kitchen zone 2

walk out on to the patio (zone 4?) 

turn through doors in to zone 3 man cave

zone 3 - a TV ,imac,  and another turntable , no amp /speakers as yet  , and an iMac 

……….

ive got a Sonos connect and a play 1 , only bits I’ve got so far 

….

Uplay 1 for the kitchen zone 2

the connect is for zone 1 living room in the hi fi

…..

I’ve been reading googling etc the past couple of days about what to get , starting with zone 3 the man cave is 1st …

questions on this …if I bought a Sonos amp, beam above TV , 2x play 1s for rears  , and plugged them turntable in to the amp via a phono pre amp , would it all work in harmony ?

Q- the tv work with the beam and rears for watching tv ?

Q- would the turntable play music through the beam and 1 rears ? And the 3 also work as a zone for wireless music ?

also just for music (not tv ) if I hard wired a pair of speakers placed either side of TV in to the amp , would they also play music in conjunction with the beam and 1s ?  I do understand they will not be used for tv as the beam won’t work as a center

and if I hard wired a pair of outdoor speakers in to the amp , could I switch them on /off just when needed to play a zone (4) ? Outdoor patio music ? 

im just wondering if that would work like that ?

or do I not use a beam and just get the amp and pair of 1s and use the speakers hard wired to both watch TV acting as a phantom center and the 1s as rears , and would all speakers play wireles music and the turntable ?

Appreciate any advice hope this makes sense ? 

Thank you 

7 replies

Badge +1

I’m just trying to get it clear in my mind how Sonos works /combines for tv and music 

zone 1 living room-