Question

Moved into a house with built in ceiling speakers but no idea where to start

• 24 June 2019
  • 2 replies

Hi everyone,

I just moved into a house that was built in 2017 and comes with three pairs of built-in ceiling speakers. One pair is in the living room, another pair in the covered patio and the last pair in the master bedroom. I am completely new to all of this so pardon my ignorance but what do I need to get started? I'm interested in having a home theater system in the living room connected to my tv and also play music (but not necessarily at the same time).

From my reading, it sounds like I may need:

Sonos Amp to connect to my built-in ceiling speakers, alexa echo, along with audio cables for just regular music in the living room, patio and bedroom

Sonos 5.1 set up (playbase, sonos 1 speakers and woofer) for my TV

Obviously this is going to get very spendy so I'm looking to see if there is any way to consolidate this? Thanks so much!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

2 replies

It would have been nice if you had been able to negotiate the power supplies (amps) that were driving the speakers in with the cost of your new home.

Cheers!

To add to this point, it's important to find out where the ceiling speaker speaker wires originate. In most cases, they will all be started from a closet or basement. In some case, your 3 sets of speakers may originate from different spots. Perhaps the patio and living room speakers are coming from a spot in the living room (where the TV might have been) while the bedroom speakers are elsewhere. That's going to limit your ability to power all 3 speaker pairs off one amp, for example.