Question

Excited to get started, but is this what you would do?

• 14 February 2017
  • 11 replies

Greetings!

Complete newbie here looking for some guidance. If I lay out my initial needs, can you point me in the right direction?

Firstly, my wife bought me a Crosley turntable for my birthday. I have no existing speakers, and up until this point, the extent of my music listening experience has been through the Pandora app on my Smart TV, or iTunes on my cheap little Bluetooth speaker. I know, I know, but we all have to start somewhere, right? Anyway, I bought a phono preamp for my turntable, so now I just need to figure out my set-up.

The turntable will most probably reside in my home office, which is upstairs away from the rest of the house. I say “probably” because that’s where I’ll get the most use out of it for now, but it’s possible that eventually I’ll want to move it downstairs once my kids get older, and my wife figures out our furniture needs (we only recently moved in to this house, and we don’t have much).

So, the obvious choice appears to be to purchase a Play:5 to hook up to the turntable in my office (via the phono preamp), and then maybe purchase one Play:1 to position downstairs in the living room, and then another Play:1 to position in the sunroom, or occasionally move outside for parties in the backyard.

What concerns me most about going straight to the Play:5, is the fact that my home office (where it will live) is tiny. The space is only approximately 12ft x 10ft, so having such a powerful speaker in that small room seems like somewhat of a waste. I should also say we have quite a small house, at approximately 3,000 square feet overall.

Lastly, when I’m not in my home office, it’s unlikely I’ll be using the turntable. Instead, I’ll probably be using Pandora or Spotify, to have as background music while downstairs cooking/eating with the family, or when I have guests over for a party.