Beam vs Playbar vs Playbase

• 10 December 2019
  • 7 replies

I’m new to SONOS, but long time fan. I’ve always told myself I’d build myself a SONOS setup once I have the right place. Well, next year I’ll be purchasing a new place and wanted to slowly start making purchases so it doesn’t hit me all at once.

That said, I purchased two SONOS Ones yesterday. I’m starting to think of my next purchase. Debating between Beam (+ Sub), Playbar (+sub) or the Playbase. Which would you suggest, and why? 

Right now I’m leaning towards Beam + Sub solely due to price point and versatility with using the sub. But really interested to hear more from the more experienced. 

7 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

How big is the room, and how will you be mounting the tv/sonos combination?

Playbar is best sonically and for sound stage, IMHO, but it’s quite big. Beam is more compact but has a small sound stage too. Playbase is a good solution if tv is on a stand: Playbase can sit under it, but still a limited sound stage. Sub is a good additional to them all - even the Playbar, I’m told!

I have Playbase and sub; it’s good on its own but MUCH better with sub.

How big is the room, and how will you be mounting the tv/sonos combination?

Playbar is best sonically and for sound stage, IMHO, but it’s quite big. Beam is more compact but has a small sound stage too. Playbase is a good solution if tv is on a stand: Playbase can sit under it, but still a limited sound stage. Sub is a good additional to them all - even the Playbar, I’m told!

I have Playbase and sub; it’s good on its own but MUCH better with sub.

Room isn’t too large, but I’d like to fill the house itself with sound.

I’m shocked to hear you have a sub with the Playbase. I always assumed that nobody would get a sub with the Playbase because it already had one built in. That said, I’d prefer to go Beam or Playbar solely because I want to purchase the Sub seperatly. Just not sure what the benefits of both are.

Userlevel 6