Beam vs Playbar vs Playbase

• 10 December 2019
  • 7 replies

I’m new to SONOS, but long time fan. I’ve always told myself I’d build myself a SONOS setup once I have the right place. Well, next year I’ll be purchasing a new place and wanted to slowly start making purchases so it doesn’t hit me all at once.

That said, I purchased two SONOS Ones yesterday. I’m starting to think of my next purchase. Debating between Beam (+ Sub), Playbar (+sub) or the Playbase. Which would you suggest, and why? 

Right now I’m leaning towards Beam + Sub solely due to price point and versatility with using the sub. But really interested to hear more from the more experienced. 

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +17

How big is the room, and how will you be mounting the tv/sonos combination?

Playbar is best sonically and for sound stage, IMHO, but it’s quite big. Beam is more compact but has a small sound stage too. Playbase is a good solution if tv is on a stand: Playbase can sit under it, but still a limited sound stage. Sub is a good additional to them all - even the Playbar, I’m told!

I have Playbase and sub; it’s good on its own but MUCH better with sub.

How big is the room, and how will you be mounting the tv/sonos combination?

Playbar is best sonically and for sound stage, IMHO, but it’s quite big. Beam is more compact but has a small sound stage too. Playbase is a good solution if tv is on a stand: Playbase can sit under it, but still a limited sound stage. Sub is a good additional to them all - even the Playbar, I’m told!

I have Playbase and sub; it’s good on its own but MUCH better with sub.

Room isn’t too large, but I’d like to fill the house itself with sound.