Answered

Windows 10 Sonos controller app has stopped working

• 2 November 2017
  • 23 replies

Hey all, I have been using Sonos since 2012 without a single problem until now, including on the very same computer.

Here's something weird:

I am able to install the app controller. Launching immediately after installation works fine and I am able to install my speaker, install services, play music with no problem. When I close the app and try to re-open it again, I get the message that the "Sonos Desktop Controller has stopped working' (cf. image attached) and it it impossible to launch it. Unless I uninstall it, re-install it, and never close it!

Anybody has had a similar experience? I'm happy to give more details if needed.

A bit of background:
I have recently moved houses, changing both my wifi setup and buying new Sonos speakers, while my existing Sonos speakers have not yet arrived to my house. So I thought I'd reset my controller and setup a new Sonos system for my new speakers (starting with my Sonos 5 gen.2). The controller I had on my computer (Windows 10 x64) kept crashing so I uninstalled it and reinstalled a new one from the Sonos website. I figured this was because of probable software updates.
icon

Best answer by Ryan S 9 January 2018, 21:35

We've identified an issue that comes up for some people that have updated to the latest version of Windows 10 (Fall Creators) where the Sonos desktop controller crashes on launch. This issue only applies to systems that also have Webroot installed.

If you want to check to see if you're affected, open the Sonos controller to get the crash. Then, go to the search bar, type Event Viewer > Windows Logs > Application... click on the most recent Error message and you will find under Fault Module Name that sclib.csharp.DLL is listed.