Answered

WAP problems

• 17 July 2021
  • 7 replies

I have several wired Sonos products + few not wired and a Roam. I have a main router and 2 WAPs - in lounge (netgear) and bedroom (ubiquity). The iOS app does not connect to the Sonos system when wifi connected near the main router but ok when connecting to wifi near 2 WAPs. All 3 use same SSID. Roam struggles to connect back via wifi after it’s been used from Bluetooth or randomly disappears from iOS controller. When this happens, on Spotify connect can see roam but on iOS controller  it’s not there. 

I am not a network expert - suspect it’s something to do with WAPs and DHCP settings. Netgear has option to set up or let router set it - not sure which one to use? Any help appreciated !

icon

Best answer by Ken_Griffiths 17 July 2021, 17:09

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

7 replies

Are the two AP’s simple AP’s wired back to the router or are they dumbed down routers? If they are routers, make sure that they are in bridged mode or their DHCP servers are disabled.

Which DHCP server have you disabled? Each system needs one and only one DHCP server. If you now have none, the system will gradually collapse over the next hours/days.

Not only do the AP’s need the same SSID/Credentials, but they ideally need to be set to the same WiFi channels too for both bands… If possible, I would set all AP’s, including your router, to use a channel-width of 20MHz just on the 2.4Ghz band aswell. 

I think with the Ubiquity AP, you have to go one step further by enabling ‘multicasting’ on that device - if you search the forum here for ‘iGMP snooping’ you should see the steps for that in some earlier posts from users.

HTH

Thanks both. Yes they are true APs not dumb routers. Would having router and APs all on the same wifi channel not cause interference?