Question

Unable to play ... - the connection to Saavn was lost

• 22 April 2020
  • 60 replies

Badge

I have been using Saavn service since a couple of years. Since about mid Apr 2020, Sonos can no longer play music using the Saavn (now called JioSaavn) service and throws and error like, “Unable to play <’song name’>... - the connection to Saavn was lost”.

1. I have a pro jiosaavn subscription.
  2. Jiosaavn app works fine on the phone
  3. I have reinstalled jiosaavn app after clearing cache/storage
  4. I have removed and reauthorised the jiosaavn app several times on Sonos app. It  gets reauthorised with ‘success’ message.
  5. Other online services are playing fine on Sonos speakers through the app. There are no router/ wifi issues.

60 replies

After rebooting the router to pick up any DNS changes from upstream, and the Sonos devices after the router to do the same, I would recommend that you submit a system diagnostic within 10 minutes of experiencing this issue, and contact Sonos Support to discuss it.

I usually suggest the phone folks, they have more tools available, but are available Monday through Friday during business hours. Twitter support folks are available 24/7.

There may be information included in the diagnostic that will help Sonos pinpoint the issue and help you find a solution. 

Badge

Hi all other music services are working fine so it does not seem to be a router or DNS issue.

Thanks

Sorry, the internet doesn’t work that way. DNS issues can, and often affect a single address between you and where you’re attempting to reach. I would still encourage you to take all of the steps I recommended. 

Badge

I appreciate your response.

I rebooted my router and then Sonos system after that. I again tried to play some music using the service but got the same error.

I will submit the fresh diagnostic #1789160978 to Sonos.