Unable to add samba share

• 10 December 2017
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 1
I post the following on an existing and related topic but get no answer...
Anyway I post this here. I'm getting tired by troubleshooting sonos. Hardware is top quality but software sucks.

I have a samba share on a Debian system. It works great with any other smb clients, including android apps. But there's no way to use it in Sonos. The error message is "Access to share ... is denied, check username/pass...". The message is misleading because it works great on any other client. I don't know why things must be so complicated with this controller. The share is mounted on many devices here and it work great everywhere except in Sonos controller (Android, Windows or Mac, non work). It would be great also to have real error messages or a debug mode to investigate. How can I debug anything with this kind of wrong error messages. A "unknown error code" would be more useful...

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

7 replies

Userlevel 1
I will reply my own question.

TL:DR: add 'ntlm auth = yes' in the global section of your smb.conf and restart the server.

It seams that even if samba v2 was released years before sonos creation, the brand decide to use SMB1 (it's 2017 and soon 2018 btw, and we are now using samba 4!!). Did someone at sonos ever heard about wannacry ?
It's not acceptable for such a brand to use SMB1 only!! Now I cannot use my sonos hardware (Four play:1, one sub with sub and my play:5 2) to listen to music. Well I can but I have to allow vulnerabilities on my network. It's a shame!
Userlevel 7
Badge +21
Yep... Sonos is very much aware of this. There are at least two other topics that are 8-10 months old, with many replies, regarding Sonos' continued use of SMBv1.
Userlevel 7
Badge +21