The curious case of Google Play Music and Sonos Controller App on iOS

• 18 May 2018
  • 7 replies

Badge
Greetings,

So I have seen a number of conversations about this issue on the net and decided to contribute to the matter while describing my own experience and seeking some assistance. Sonos Support so far have been rather disappointing in terms of time to and content of responses, though I am assuming that this is because I am dealing with Level 1 support personnel (those folks normally copy/paste replies and read from a script) though I guess I have had to start somewhere. In the end it is worth noting that I like the product, I am a big fan of it and use it extensively every day, each day, but the support is lacking so far... though I plan to persist and see how this goes.

So to begin. I am an IT professional with considerable IT experience (20+ years total with 10+ as Level 3 support). So, I would like you to assume that a certain logical process was followed here and this is not just a rant or a mistake of some kind.

I use a pair of Sonos Play:1 speakers to primary stream Spotify but recently, based on recommendations I have read I decided to upload some rare music (I collect Soundtracks) to Google Music Play (using free account) so that I can stream that music from somewhere (since it is not available on Spotify) back to my speakers.

The primary problem I am encountering is inconsistency in the Google Music Play browse feature. In particular, there is a difference in what Sonos Controller app sees (even within different sections of itself) and what Google Music Play (Chrome based app or iOS based app) see. The difference persists over time and full reboot (as in unplug the thing for 5 minutes from all power) of everything in use (speakers, routers, devices with controller app and... the kitchen sink) does not resolve the issue.

The following screenshots will illustrate the problem.