Speakers cutting out after Airplay 2 update

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

55 replies

If you're having dropouts using AirPlay 2, it's likely due to the phone's network connection. We can help look into that with you too, so I'd also suggest giving us a call.

Thank you for your reply Ryan. I can see how an update could coincide with a change in channels or DHCP allocation and how difficult it is for you guys to make that point to users, because of course everyone says "It worked fine yesterday".

I've been building multi-room audio setups with Airplay for over 10 years myself and am relatively new to Sonos. When I first heard of Sonos getting Airplay support I was very excited but sceptic, and I'm sad to see it all break down after one day, in my case. Because I see the same pain as a lot of Airplay 1 networks face, I decided to add my comment, hoping Sonos will take these claims seriously and fix these issues or just make a clear statement of minimal bandwidth or network settings to get this to work properly.

I will try to have a look at network settings, static IP's and alternative wifi channels. This is not my own setup but that of a client. He's not using a phone, it's happening on an iMac with a steady connection and almost no other wifi devices around. It seems the same music is playing fine from the Sonos controller app by the way.

It would be nice for your clients/users to hear that Sonos engineers are looking into this, as the threads and replies about similar issues are stacking up, only days after the update. I will have a support call when I'm on site and will keep following this thread closely.