Answered

Sonos One Name Defaults Back to “Sonos” After An Hour

• 14 August 2018
  • 8 replies

I have a pair of Sonos One speakers in different rooms. I updated the software to the latest version to enable AirPlay 2 support. A byproduct of the update: the speakers will not hold their room name. Among my list of airplay devices, I will see Sonos, Sonos. This did not occur prior to the software update.

I can go to the Sonos app room settings. The room name will say Sonos, even though there is a check mark (example 1) next to “bedroom,” the correct name. Clicking “bedroom” will reset the speaker name to “bedroom” and bring up a dialog asking whether I moved the speaker and need to retune. Now the speaker name displays correctly... until the next time it spontaneously resets. The name does not stick in airplay or within the Sonos app.

I’m an advanced tech user and have gone through a number of name resets and other attempts to address the issue. Although everything else works fine, this is a pain, and I’m not likely to expand my system further only to have three or four generic room names to try each time I want to play music.

This seems like a software or firmware issue, but I cannot see the topic being discussed here yet. Surely I am not the only one. Thoughts?
icon

Best answer by Belly M 14 August 2018, 19:33

Try renaming them in the iOS Home app.
View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

I think you probably are the only one! I would like to help but I am struggling to follow ehat you are doing / saying. Maybe a couple of screenshots would help?
Here are screens showing the default speaker names. Setting the name to a non-default value works for a short time, then reverts back to Sonos. This did not occur prior to the recent software update. I doubt I am the only one, but thanks bro.
Userlevel 7
Badge +26