Answered

Song skips and Alexa Doesn't find artists in my library

• 2 March 2018
  • 6 replies

Just got my Sonos One speaker and works pretty well. Fidelity is wonderful but I did have a couple of songs skip in the middle to the next song. The Sonos is accessing my iTunes song library from my iPhone and wondered if there might be some interference from my iMac computer even though iTunes is not opened?

I have never used Alexa before and am finding that it finds some of the artists in my iTunes library and not others. For instance, I have a Bunny Berrigan (1930-40's) Jazz CD. I've asked Alex several times to play it but the response is that she can't find it. Also follows up that Bunny Berrigan is in Amazon Music and that I can sign up for it. Really, really annoying and hardly worth using the app if I have to hear that everytime Alexa isn't doing her job. I don't want to subscribe to a music service. I love Amazon but can't listen to that. Is there any way to turn the advertisement off?
icon

Best answer by Airgetlam 2 March 2018, 20:39

Voice commands through Alexa for local library tracks are not available at this point. You can control local library music with commands such as resume, stop, skip, volume, but you can’t control searches and specific track commands. The Alexa skill is connecting to streaming services when you ask for a specific artist or track, and not your local library.
View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Voice commands through Alexa for local library tracks are not available at this point. You can control local library music with commands such as resume, stop, skip, volume, but you can’t control searches and specific track commands. The Alexa skill is connecting to streaming services when you ask for a specific artist or track, and not your local library.