Repeated unable to find Sonos

Badge
Hi, newbie here so please go easy on me. We keep losing the Sonos on our WiFi....start the app and it can't find Sonos. We had a Bridge and now have a Boost connected directly to our Virgin Media hub and it still loses it. The only way to get it back is to remove power from the Boost and reapply. Am I doing something wrong? It's really frustrating to have to go turn the power off then wait when I should be able to connect immediately. Thanks in advance.

28 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +20
Diagnostics:

Your confirmation number is: 1864627301.

Thanks for sending in the report. It was sent while your controller could not see any Sonos components, so there's not much information in the report. Generally, if you have a Sonos unit wired into your router, it isn't hard to see that unit in the controller. You may want to check the ethernet cable between your Boost and router. Try unplugging it and plugging it back in, or perhaps try a different ethernet cable.

I notice you're using a PC to run the app. Sometimes the computer's firewall or antivirus programs can block the connection. Try going through these steps to configure any firewall or antivirus you may be running.

If that helps, send along a new diagnostic report while you can see the Sonos units in the app. If not, do you have another device you can try using, such as a smartphone?
Note that Jeff and his co-workers are M-F during business hours. If you're interested in a more timely response, you may want to contact Sonos Support to discuss it. I tend to suggest the phone folks, they have more tools available, but are only available during business hours. Both the Twitter and Facebook support folks are available 24/7.
Badge
Jeff, it would appear that your suggestion to move the Boost a little further away from the router has, for now at least, solved my problem. Since I moved them 2 feet apart, I have never had an issue with not finding the Sonos system.