My Netgear Router Has Started Freezing Since SONOS Attached

Badge +2
I'm new to Sonos, and I've had a Bridge, Connect:Amp and 7xPlay:1 speakers working for about 4 weeks. The Boost is wired to my router (a Netgear DGND3700v2) and all other Sonos components are WiFi connected; control is via the IOS app on an iPad and the Connect:Amp drives a pair of good Sony speakers. I use a Classic Ipod with all my music connected to the Connect:Amp line-in, and play to all the speakers continuously After fixing all the glitches (many thanks to Sonos, and Forum contributors) I'm happy with the way Sonos works.

The router also switches up to four desktops connected to the router via one Ethernet cable off a gigabit switch which links the desktops using fixed IP addresses on the local LAN.

But since connecting the Sonos kit my router regularly freezes after an interval of about 24 hours. The Wifi and Sonos carry on working, but my desktops cannot connect to the router. I reboot the router, the Sonos kit stops for a few seconds and everything restarts until the next freeze.

Does anyone have any experience of this issue and/or have any idea how to diagnose and fix it?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

29 replies

This sounds very odd. What make/model of switch is it? Have you tried simply swapping the Boost and switch between router ports?
Badge +2
My Ethernet switch is a simple Netgear GS105 5-port gigabit. It's never caused problems before. I've not tried swapping out the Boost and using the router's switch instead. The 4 x desktops are in a cluster connected via the GS105 (unmanaged) switch 30 feet away from the router, and then one Ethernet cable connects the switch to one port on the router's switch. It worked this way without problems before connecting the Sonos kit.