Answered

Lost Connection to Beam

Why does my Beam keep getting lost? I am new to Sonos products and rapidly coming to the opinion I should have stayed away. 

I bought a beam to go with my projector and thought I might add more later. So far I find the sound quality really good but the software is far too complex. 

What is worse is my profile keeps loosing the beam. Tonight I am sat here with my phone linked via wi fi listening to music. With the music still playing the software tells me I have no device connected. I have no control over the beam. I follow the instructions which have me turning the speaker off at the power supply and reseting all the connections. Why does this keep happening? 

icon

Best answer by Ken_Griffiths 7 October 2021, 21:08

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

11 replies

Userlevel 7

What model router are you using? How far is it from the Beam? When was the last time you rebooted the router? Are you able to wire the Beam directly to your router with an ethernet cable?

My Beam is connected via a wi fi booster over powerline. The router is upstairs. Is a cable connection via power line worth a try? 

Not sure about the router, will check. Its about 4 year old BT. 

Rebooted about a month ago. 

Just done it again. Now I have to re enter the password for my router to reconnect the Beam. 

Going back to my radio. 

My Beam is connected via a wi fi booster over powerline. The router is upstairs. Is a cable connection via power line worth a try? 

Not sure about the router, will check. Its about 4 year old BT. 

Rebooted about a month ago. 

It’s probably related to the powerline adapter - note these type of network adapters are mentioned as being ‘unsupported’ in the Sonos system requirements:

https://support.sonos.com/s/article/126