Google Wifi connection

• 4 September 2018
  • 30 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge +3
  • Prominent Collaborator I
  • 80 replies
I have been using Google Wifi with Sonos for about six months. I have seven Sonos zones, using eight devices. It used to be pretty good, but lately, I've been getting a lot of dropouts. I had it all set up to work over wifi, not Sonosnet. Google's app allows you to check connection speeds to each wifi device. When I do that, I see that my Sonos units are getting terrible speeds. For example, my Connect:Amp, which is about six feet away from one of the Google nodes, was getting a speed of

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

30 replies

Userlevel 7
Hi jnak

Although you were getting good speeds in the beginning with Google Wi-Fi it's still Wi-Fi subject to outside and/or inside interference. Also, make sure your Google Wi-Fi components are up-to-date with the latest firmware and that your Sonos App is v9.1.

A Boost setup may be your best solution as the Google Wi-Fi may be overloaded with competing components. If setting up a Boost network for Sonos is something you are against then I suggest you take every Wi-Fi component off-line (unplug) and bring each one back one-by-one. I'd start with bringing back Sonos first and the others afterwards. You might also submit a diagnostic and post the Reference ID in this forum. Good Luck!

Cheers!
Userlevel 3
Badge +3
OK, I put my Sonos back in wifi mode and submitted a diagnostic 1173139766. The speeds according to the Google wifi app show all my Sonos devices have poor speeds. For example, my playbase was 3 mbps while the Roku that is right next to the playbase was hitting 50 mbps. It doesn't make sense to me, all of the Sonos devices have poor speeds on wifi mode while the other devices have very good speeds.
Userlevel 7
Badge +21