Question

Boost problems

Hi

I’ve been having ongoing problems with Sonos after a major network outage early in lockdown.  We ended up replacing our router for a Virgin Hub 3.0.  Having read about issues with these, I split the wifi signals into separate 2.4 and 5Ghz networks and have been controlling all the Sonos speakers via the 2.4Ghz.  We were continuing to have issues with speakers disappearing until by accident I switched off the Boost (which I had been using for a few years) and have been running the system without that for a few days.  

Today my daughter told me that she can’t really pick up the 2.4Ghz signal from her bedroom so hasn’t been using her speaker.  So I thought I’d try the Boost again to see if it improved things at all.  And surprise surprise we’re back to square one with only one of the speakers being picked up via the app.  

What am I doing wrong?

Chris 

10 replies

Try unplugging all your Sonos devices, including the BOOST. Then reboot the router. When the router come back up, plug in the BOOST that is wired to the router first, and wait a minute for it to finish booting up. Then plug in your other Sonos devices. Once they are all showing up in the controller, remove any information about your network SSID and password from the controller, as you don’t want the speakers to be flapping between your own WiFi signal and the one generated by the BOOST. 

Hi Bruce

Thanks for replying.  Two quick questions: 

1. How do I ‘remove any information about my network SSID and password from the controller’?  I control via my iPhone and thought I needed to signed into the 2.4Ghz network in order to control Sonos. 
  2. Would you think that the BOOST network will have better reach than the original wifi one?

Otherwise, I’ll give it a go shortly and report back. Thanks again, 

Chris