Basic uPnP/DLNA question

• 23 September 2014
  • 9 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge
Hi - I'm new to DLNA/uPNP and I'm trying to use the capability of the Sonos devices to be a uPNP Media Renderer. I don't want to do complex control, just a simple rendering of a MP3 stream, but I want to minimize playback delay. My understanding of uPNP and Sonos is that I need to have a very basic uPNP Media Controller to send the request to Sonos to get (play) the stream (file) I want it to play and then it (Sonos device) will issue the series of HTTP-GET requests to the server I've set to grab the audio data. Sonos devices does not support any other protocol than HTTP to get the stream - is this correct ?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

9 replies

philippe44,

First post! Welcome to the forums.

SONOS is not DLNA compliant. You have no control over the transport delay.
Userlevel 1
Badge
Thanks Buzz - but Sonos is uPNP compliant. I mean, you can play streams TO the devices (I know they cannot act as a Media Server, but they are Media Renderer). I'm using them successfully with various uPnP controllers. Wrt delay control, I'm not looking at a very perfect or accurate control, but just something "reasonnable"
This may help:

[thread=20721]Exploring the Sonos control API[/thread]

Cheers,

Keith
Userlevel 2
Thanks Buzz - but Sonos is uPNP compliant. I mean, you can play streams TO the devices (I know they cannot act as a Media Server, but they are Media Renderer). I'm using them successfully with various uPnP controllers. Wrt delay control, I'm not looking at a very perfect or accurate control, but just something "reasonnable"
It's true you can get Sonos to make the HTTP request to whatever URL you hand to it via UPnP/DLNA commands, but as far as playback delay it is out of your hands. The Sonos device will prebuffer audio as necessary hence the delay.