Adding a Connect:Amp to an S1 system, fail

• 20 January 2021
  • 4 replies

I’m trying to add a second hand Connect:Amp to my S1 system to replace a ZP100 with failed power supply.  The remaining Zone Bridge and ZP100 is working fine.

I use IoS app v.11.2.4. 

When selecting ‘add product’ , the app say the that it must be updated.  (I believe I’m running the latest version of the S1 app, 11.2.4.)  The app will not update, and I get error 1101.  if I opt not to update, I can not add a product.

The ZP100 runs version 11.1 and so does the ZoneBridge

I have rebooted all the sonos products. The network is running fine.  I am a network engineer and run my own enterprise FW.  There is no traffic from the Sonos system that is blocked in the firewall.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

4 replies

So, I can think of a few possibilities.

1. this particular device was already updated to S2. In all cases of ‘new to you’ equipment, it is recommended that you do a factory reset of the device, and then add it to your current system.
  2. it might have an old enough version of the software that it can no longer be automatically updated to the current version. If that’s a possibility, a simple call Sonos Support directly to discuss it should be able to resolve it, they would generate a specific update file for you online, and send you a link that would update the specific device. They may need a system diagnostic before you call in, potentially. Not sure, but it might be easier to run one before you call, rather than trying to do it while talking to them. 
  3. it is always possible that this device has failed. So a call is probably worth the time.