Workaround for Line-In on Play:3?

Userlevel 2
I'm thinking about getting my first Sonos equipment to play music from my computer and from a CD player. Right now I'm thinking I'll get the Play:5, only because it has line-in. I'd rather get a pair of Play:3 speakers because I think in the long run I'd like a pair of 3s more than a single 5 (especially if I want to use the 3s as part of a surround sound set-up later). Additionally, I'm new to this all but the more I read about an NAS set-up, the more I'm interested. Therefore, I may see myself setting up an NAS in the future and I would no longer need the line-in. I'm just not ready to go all in (two Play:3's and a NAS) just right now.

Therefore, is there a workaround for line-in on the Play3?

20 replies

Welcome to the forums.

Whilst there are workarounds which send PC audio over the network -- by setting it up as a local 'radio station' -- there is no solution for physically connecting a CD player (or a PC for that matter) which doesn't involve a Line-In jack somewhere.

Clearly ripping CDs to digital music files is the long term answer, from which point your CD player will gather dust somewhere.

If you're set on the 2xPlay:3 (which IMO is a great solution) then one possibility would be to pick up a used ZP80 off eBay, which could then serve as the Line-In device.
Userlevel 2
Thanks for the ZP80 suggestion. I considered the Connect as a possible workaround (albeit expensive for my intended usage). Unfortunately there does not seem to be a good supply of ZP80s on eBay right now.

Overall, how would you compare the sound of one Play:5 as opposed to a Play:3 pair?

Overall, how would you compare the sound of one Play:5 as opposed to a Play:3 pair?

The pair sounds better because it allows for the physical separation of left and right channels for the necessary stereo imaging that a single play 5 cannot yield.