Wiring help

Userlevel 2
I am brand new to this sonos system and had a quick question. Can I wire speakers into the ceiling going to a connect amp and also wire in a volume control in the wall? The volume control in the wall will work as well as the volume control on the app right?

Thanks!

Josh

11 replies

Welcome to the forum.

You can use a wall-mount control in addition to the app's control (in fact we recommend exactly that where a Connect:Amp feeds pairs of speakers in different rooms, for example).

The thing to be aware of is that cascaded volume controls can sometimes produce undesired effects. It's easy for 'volume control wars' to happen, with the resulting occasional very loud result. As long as you know that going in, or only use the wall control for quick but temporary adjustments, that issue shouldn't be a concern.
Userlevel 2
I am trying to figure out the best way to set this all up and I am confused. I am going to wire 2 speakers into my kitchen, 2 into my dining room, and 2 into my bedroom, 1 in the hall way, and 1 in the bathroom. I am getting the mono price 8 inches. How many Connect Amps do I need or where do I need to wire these too?

Thanks again!
With proper impedance matching, you could run all of those from one Connect:Amp, but the same thing would play everywhere (and likely not very loudly). You should consider where you're likely to need separate sources. For example, you might decide the kitchen and dining room can go together, but you might not want the bedroom in with those. Perhaps bed, hall and bath make a good combo. Of course, you can start with one Connect:Amp and add others as budget permits. Sonos is pretty flexible in that regard.