Answered

Why does Sonos Connect volume have to be at 100% when connected to external amp in 'Variable' mode?

Badge
Hoping someone can help with a really annoying problem with my Sonos Connect seti-up. Must point out first I am not very tech savvy or experienced with Sonos (although am loving it despite this problem!)

I have a Sonos Connect going into a Cambridge Audio CXN streamer which is connected to a Cambridge CXA80 integrated amplifier. When Sonos is set in 'Variable' mode (which allows me to control the music from the Sonos App) I have to turn the volume to 100% (full) on app and then use the amp to control the actual listening volume level. The whole idea of course is you can so it straight from the app rather than using the amplifier remote or walking across room to do it. Its nothing to do with the amp inputs as tried other devices through them and all work fine - same goes for the CXN streamer. Also same happens if I just connect the Sonos straight to the amp with the CXN off and not connected so not that either. Additionally the problem was the same whether using digital (toslink or spdif cables) or analogue (RCA and XLRs). Nothing is in mute

I called Sonos who did a diagnostic of the device and said it has no fault. They then said the issue must be the line level strength required by the amplifier and Sonios's was too low and therefore nothing to do with the Connect? They suggested there might be some device 'out there a bit like a phono amp' that could boost the Sonos strength? They also suggested I ask the Sonos community about this problem which is why I'm writing. It does seem to me that this should work ok?

So I also asked Cambridge Audio who said "The CXN and CXA only require a 'Line Level' signal which the Sonos Connect should produce. You are able to connect a phono stage but this would be to the CXA only as the CXN does not have any analogue inputs. This is usually used for items such as turntables that require extra amplification."