Why do I feel I have just wasted £1500

Badge

I have just purchased an Arc and Sub Gen3, paired with a couple of Play:1’s that I had lying around that weren’t being used.

I cannot for the life of me get it working to get a decent sound out of it.

The biggest issue is that I cannot turn on Dolby Digital Plus on my Sky box because the lip sync is out and no amount of adjustment on the TV, Sky Box or Sonos app makes any difference, when I leave it on Stereo PCM it sounds poor. 

I previously had an Onkyo Dolby Atmos amp and when that was outputting Sterio PCM it sounded significantly better than this. It was working perfectly but fancied a change, a change I am now seriously regretting.

I work in IT so I consider myself to be reasonable competent with such things and I have literally tried everything.

My TV is a 2019 model Philips Ambilight 55” 4K with arc output. The Sonos is connected to this HDMI port and the sky box is connected to another HDMI port. I have tried every HDMI cable I have in the house including the one that came with the ARC. I have tried disconnecting power on all devices etc etc.

I even started looking at buying another TV today but I really don’t fancy spending another £1000 witth no guarantee it will work. 

Can anyone help before this goes on ebay!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

29 replies

Userlevel 7

Do you have the Digital Out Format set to Multichannel (bypass) on your TV? Have you performed Trueplay tuning yet?

Badge

Yes I have tried it with Multichannel (bypass) and without.

I have just discovered that it was the Trueplay tuning that has given the poor quality because it reset everything to defaults. I have now made the changes and it sounds significantly better.

So I have just have the lipsync issue to solve.