Special characters in Imported M3U Playlist

Userlevel 2
Hi, I'm new to Sonos and have found it brilliant so far, so easy to set up and use.

Just one issue I've found which hopefully someone can help with.

I created an m3u playlist and saved it in my music folder, and Sonos indexed it an picked it up fine, all except for one track.

For this track it just shows the filename and cannot play it.

The only difference for this track to all the others in the list is that there is a cedilla C in the folder name, so I wonder if this is causing the problem?

The path of the offending file is:
R:\Music\JD Music\Music\Poliça\Give You The Ghost\04 Dark Star.m4a

as you can see "Poliça" is what I think might be the problem.

The same track is indexed fine in the Music Library and plays no problem.

Is there anything I can do in my playlist creation to work around this?

Many Thanks.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

18 replies

Userlevel 2
No-one any ideas on this?

I created a new playlist containing the rest of the Poliça album along with a Tiësto album.

None of these tracks show up properly in the playlist, just the filename is displayed and the track will not play.

Again, all these tracks are in the proper location and play perfectly well from the main music library, its just in the imported playlist that they don't work.

I think with my new playlist I've proved to myself that Sonos cannot handle special characters in imported playlists. So I assume the only way around this is to not have them in the names.

But surely others have encountered this? I'd just like reassuring that I'm not doing something wrong!

By the way, if I've posted this in the wrong place, please feel free to move it.

Thanks.
JDu,

Which program have you used to build your external playlist?