Answered

Sonos Playbar in connection with Sonos One?

• 2 July 2018
  • 5 replies

Hey everybody :)

Total newbie here, looking for an answer in relation to connecting the Sonos Playbar with the Sonos One:

I am thinking of buying an Echo Dot and pairing it with Sonos One for my kitchen and a Sonos Playbar for my television in the living room. However, I was wondering if I am able to play simultaneously on the Playbar and One without having the television turned on? In other words, can the Playbar function separately, in synchronization with the One as well as functioning as a speaker for the television?

Thanks for the help!

Best regards,
ShortyDK
icon

Best answer by ShortyDK 2 July 2018, 09:03

Ohh boy, guess I jumped the gun on this one - after a bit of searching I found the answer in a previous thread: https://en.community.sonos.com/wireless-speakers-228992/pairing-sonos-one-with-playbar-6800270

Sorry 🙂
View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

5 replies

Ohh boy, guess I jumped the gun on this one - after a bit of searching I found the answer in a previous thread: https://en.community.sonos.com/wireless-speakers-228992/pairing-sonos-one-with-playbar-6800270

Sorry 🙂
ShortyDK, a couple things that weren't mentioned in the thread you linked...

You don't need an echo dot for your scenario. That is to say that you wouldn't (and currently can't) pair an echo dot with the Sonos One. The Sonos One has Alexa built in, so you can make request directly to the Sonos One, including playing music on the One, on the Playbar, or both at the same time. If your kitchen and Living room are actually separate rooms, not an open concept home, then you might want the dot to put in your living room. You could then tell the dot ...'Alexa, play XXX on YYYY'...where YYYY is living room or kitchen.