Question

Ripping CDs for use via Sonos Connect to DAC

• 13 May 2017
  • 4 replies

Hi all,

I have a Sonos Connect coming next week and I am interested in knowing what folks use for ripping CDs to a server. Or do I need a server as opposed to just a hard drive attached to my home wifi network?

I was looking at a Wyred 4 Sound music server. It rips the CD to its internal HDD as soon as you insert one. Is that overkill? I already have an external CD-DVD tray for my laptop. I can rip CDs today via iTunes to an external HDD. Is that all that Sonos Connect needs?

I like the idea though of a dedicated music server so I don't have to keep my laptop turned on all the time.

As you can probably see, I am new to this. I listen to a lot of LP records but have a huge CD collection that I would like to have on a server or HDD so I can stream it with the Sonos.

Thanks in advance,

Eric

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

4 replies

Hi Eric. My advice would be to forget the gimmicky and often expensive 'rip and store' devices. You need a Network Attached Storage (NAS) drive. WD My Cloud NAS devices are a pretty good budget option. You can even maintain your iTunes library on the WD.

Just out of curiosity, what are you going to be playing the Connect through?
Thanks John. I will be running the digital output of the Sonos Connect into the digital input of my Music-Hall cd-dac-15.3.

I will look into these WD devices.

Thanks!

Eric
Userlevel 7
Badge +21
I have an old WD Live Ethernet connected hard drive as my Sonos music library storage device and it has been working for many years now. Aside from a monthly check for software updates and hitting the dust bunnies with a can of air it just works. It also offers an auto-power saver so that it goes to idle after a period of non-use.