Answered

Restarting a Boost Network

Badge
I'm a newbie who has recently set up a boost network.

I followed the order of operations of boost first then adding speakers and everything was good in Sonos land.

Last night I was having separate (I think) wifi issues and chose to reboot my Xfinity modem/router.

Everything is working on my Sonos system currently, but how can I tell if it is on the wifi or if it re-set up the boost network again?

If it is not on the boost network is there an order of operations that I can do next time I reboot my modem/router?

Thanks to all.
CC
icon

Best answer by Ken_Griffiths 13 June 2018, 13:26

Canuckcamper,

A couple of things for you to do...

Goto 'About my Sonos System' in the Sonos App Settings and make sure the device entries in the list have WM: 0 next to them. That means they are running on your Boost SonosNet signal.

If you see WM: 1 then they are running on your WiFi.

The one thing you need to do is goto 'Advanced Settings/Wireless Setup' and remove/reset your WiFi credentials. They are not required for Boost Mode.

Can I also suggest you make sure that your router’s 2.4ghz WiFi channel and SonosNet Channel are completely different... set them to at least 5 channels apart. So if your WiFi is running on channel 6, as an example, then set your SonosNet to channel 1 or 11.

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +3
Canuckcamper,

A couple of things for you to do...

Goto 'About my Sonos System' in the Sonos App Settings and make sure the device entries in the list have WM: 0 next to them. That means they are running on your Boost SonosNet signal.

If you see WM: 1 then they are running on your WiFi.

The one thing you need to do is goto 'Advanced Settings/Wireless Setup' and remove/reset your WiFi credentials. They are not required for Boost Mode.