Answered

recycle problem

• 19 November 2019
  • 55 replies

I bought the speaker offfline and I followed all the instructions and it says it can connect because it’s in recycle mode somehelp

icon

Best answer by AjTrek1 19 November 2019, 14:54

Sorry for @Kevinjimenez1011 dilemma but this is a prime example of  “Caveat emptor”.  It’s always best to purchase used gear of any type from a friend, relative or reputable site like eBay; for example. Not that you can’t get scammed on eBay; but they do offer a form of “Buyers Protection” if you can prove your case.

Best practices IMO...always check the Sonos sites below before going to any 3rd party source.  Click to see current products offered:

Last Chance

Refurbished or Certified Refurbished

I’m not a lawyer, so maybe Sonos legal department already has this covered. However, this insert taken from the T&C’s of the Trade-Up Program may be the fly-in-the-ointment.

With no mention of a credit/discount being rescinded if the instructions are not followed it appears Sonos may have put the cart-before-the-horse. IMO the credit/discount should not be released until after the deactivated product is either received by Sonos or delivered to a certified electronics recycler. If the latter the recycler could issue a receipt that could be presented to Sonos as proof of compliance. 

@Ken_Griffiths (with all due respect :slight_smile: ) I’m not sure that publishing MAC Addresses for disabled products would make a difference for a few reasons:

• Sonos has a way of making things like lists a bit hard to find for those who aren’t familiar with the Sonos website (i.e. Support and Community) 
  • Most people have no idea of what a Mac Address is; or it’s purpose
  • Most are more likely to understand the meaning of a published Serial Number vs Mac Address