Answered

Playing Beam and single Sonos One with TV sound output

• 7 April 2021
  • 5 replies

I’m a novice with sound issues.  I have a recently purchased a Beam, which I have been playing with my Samsung TV sound output.  Because of space issues the Beam soundbar is on a shelf to the right of the TV, which results in a one directional sound when watching TV.  I now have purchased a Sonos 1 (2nd Gen) and placed it on a shelf to the left of the TV in an attempt to get a more balanced sound output.  I gave the Beam and the Sonos 1 different “room” names and “grouped” them as per the app instructions.  I then set the volume levels in the app to the same settings and confirmed that the TV sound was coming out of both speakers.  The trouble is that when watching TV, the volume of each speaker keeps changing.  Each gets very quiet for a time at different times while watching.  They quiet to the point that it seems to the listener that the sound has gone off in one of the speakers.  It hasn’t, however. it just gets very quiet relative to the other speaker. QUESTION:  Is there a way to keep the volume of each speaker locked in to maintain the same volume level at all times after an initial setting through the app or otherwise?

icon

Best answer by Airgetlam 8 April 2021, 07:20

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

5 replies

Now, that’s a conundrum. I had all sorts of “no, it’s not….but wait, that’s not what he’s saying” happening when I read your issue.

And don’t fret being a novice. Often, too little knowledge is more easily overcome than hard and fast “assumptions’ that turn out to be incorrect in the way that Sonos interacts with networking.