new house, new system

• 12 June 2008
  • 5 replies

Userlevel 2
i have purchased a house w. in-wall or in-ceiling b & w speakers in 16 rooms. all are wired to a central media closet, and i need a front end, w. nas.

i figure i can make do w. 6 zones, averaging 4 pairs of speakers and with a high of 6 pair. none are amplified now.

i am new to sonos and not sure what i would require.

russound? niles? escient? what nas for 5-600 cds and two teens' worth of itunes?

THANKS for advice, i need it.

5 replies

Badge
I've thought about ZP100's driving local speakers for those areas, but it may be worth revisiting. That type of local source switching brings up another related question.

But first ...

I'm actually using more ZP100's in the closet rather than dealing with separate amps. But there are a number of areas where I'm going to be driving 3 or 4 pair of speakers for a single zone, so it makes sense to use ZP80's with a separate amp there.

And it's crazy, but the best pricing on building a Sonos system is to buy the BU130 bundles, so I've been trying to factor that into the plan and figure out how I can put ZP80's to use.

One of the planned decentralized ZP80 locations definitely needs to drive 4 pairs of speakers.

Another is space constrained, and I'm inclined to think I can hide a ZP80 a little more easily.

The other could go either way as it has 2 pairs of speakers and plenty of space. I was just figuring that for consistency I'd go the ZP80 route.

Wiring is going to be a mix of CAT5e and CAT6. We're getting pre-bundled dual-RG6/dual-CAT5e that's a good value, so we're using it. The rest is going to be CAT6.

All multimedia locations will end up wired with 2 RG6, 2 CAT5e and 2 CAT6.

Some will have extra CAT6 for the future possibility of some video distribution.

I plan to be fairly liberal with extra CAT6 outlets, as you never know what you might want to do in the future.

I've got about a month left to finalize the plans before we have to do the wiring.