Question

New Home Setup - need help !

• 16 October 2020
  • 5 replies

• Contributor I
  • 2 replies

Hello All, 

I have moved into my new home - Im a total newbie with this stuff - and curious on the best way to setup the home :

~4500 sqF

the house is prewired and has ceiling speakers in the following areas:

Kitchen

Living Room/ TV room 

outside patio 

dining room 

master bedroom 

master bath 

loft 

I have :

1 sonos Amp 

sonos soundbar ( older )  + sub ( currently in Living Room/TV room - may move to a guest room ) 

A/V closet has a speaker selector piece of hardware 

goals:

to have each room above as its own channel, and to be able to easily login to sonos app and select room and music etc :

to be able  to play apple music / music off phone etc in each desired location 

in master bedroom and living room , to be able to play TV through the speakers ( both rooms are setup as 5 speaker system with 2 rear speakers , 2 front speakers, and a center channel ) 

looking for some guidance on whee and how to begin !!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

5 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +4

The Playbar would be visible from the Sonos app and can play music like any other zone.

Thank you. 
so I assume the playbar , once moved to a guest room , would be basically just a “speaker” for the guest room tv and not on the Sonos app ? 

Userlevel 2
Badge +4

Your plan for the Amps per room looks correct. I counted the Amp you own when I said you’d need to buy 8 more. The Amp can provide the signal to a 3rd party sub and can also bond with a Sonos sub, so you won’t need an additional Amp for that.

Thanks Dan. Very helpful. So is this the breakdown per amp ? 

front speakers tv room 

back speakers tv room 

kitchen 

dining room 

outside patio 

master bedroom front 

master bedroom rear 

master bath 

loft