Question

Echo Dot Integration?

• 14 January 2017
  • 20 replies

Is there a date in sight for the integration with Echo Dot from Amazon? What is the current solution? I find more value on the automation and convenience than in the speaker quality so, if there is no current solution to integrate the Echo Dot with Play1, I will replace the speakers.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

20 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +22
It will becoming first part of this year - first part could be up to May .... we don't know. I would not expect to see anything in next 30 days as there have not been any rumblings around the board of anything imminent.

I'm not sure you can find anything better suited in the interim period - of course we are all impatient but hopefully the quality of integration is there vs. rush to market.
I am not a music expert, in fact sometimes I just like some noise around the house. The Sono Play speaker we have sounds brilliant, and I want to buy more. We also have an Amazon Echo dot, linked to Amazon Music unlimited, which is also great and I find myself listening more and more to the rubbish Echo Dot speaker rather than my Sonos, so I have a real dilemma.
At the moment the Echo Dot integration with Sonos, is happening sometime in 2017, I have seen "Before May", Q4 & Q3. What would be useful is a formal statement from Sonos as to when its happening, then I can make a decision on buying 5 more Play products or buying Echo Speakers instead.

So come on Sonos, when? nail it down to a month, I can't be the only person considering this, and Denon Heos has announced their integration for Q1 2017.
Badge
Sonos is always tight-lipped about pretty much everything - one of my (and others) biggest gripes. I don't really see why they do it either, it can only hurt their operations
Userlevel 7
Badge +19