Create predefined groups

• 11 February 2017
  • 21 replies

Userlevel 1
Is there a way to create groups prior to using them? And then save them?

I have 8 play:1s scattered through the house. In an ideal world I would have a series of groups (kids room, common areas, downstairs, upstairs, everything, etc.) and I would enable/continue using a group when i started playing. Is this possible? Or do I have to recreate groups each time?

To be clear, what I would like is something like this:
Kids Group - contains Kid 1 and Kid 2 speakers
Common Area Group - contains Living Room, Dining Room, and Office speakers
Upstairs Group - contains Master bedroom and speakers in the Common Area Group
All Group - contains all the speakers

And then when I started playing music in the Common Area and wanted to have the music play in all the upstairs, I would not move the Master Bedroom into the Common Area Group, rather I would just select the Common Area Group and have the Master Bedroom automatically join the playing.

Is this possible?
If so, where do I find the UI on the Controller running on the Windows OS?

Thanks

David

21 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +10
Hi David,

Welcome to the Community!

I'm not a total expert on *all* things Sonos... but I think what you are asking is not available in the app...

You *can* bond two Play 1s together as a stereo pair, under the assumption they are filling a single space and would be TruePlay tuned together (like I hope your "office speakers" are) - they will show up as a single "room" ... but pre-defining groups of "rooms" that the app uses... I don't think this is possible.. (aside from "party mode" that selects all devices....)

(I've been wrong before... any of the deep learned experts wish to contradict me? )
Not possible in the app but easily done using third party integration. I use Homeseer but I'm sure there are several other options to accomplish the same thing.
Userlevel 7
Badge +21