Answered

Advice on yamaha receiver and system with Sonos

• 31 May 2020
  • 5 replies

Hi Everyone.  I am new to this forum but appreciate some advice form anyone.  I am a Sonos beginner and never really been at the stage to buy everything I want.  The dream was to set up our next home with Sonos...but the one we have just bought already comes with a built in-ceiling speaker system in all living areas and powered by a central Yamaha RX - V2079 amp. 

My next purchase was going to be a turntable and this was going to connect via Sonos amp to my new Sonos speakers...but now, this seems hard to justify with a full speaker system in the house.

Is there any way to connect Sonos products to the existing amp (which is situated in a cupboard)...especially my turntable for vinyl listening that I don't want in the cupboard.  Can u sue the port to stream this to the Yamaha amp, or does it need to be cable connected?

The only other ways I can see are a separate set up for my turntable (eg with Sonos five) or the expensive way of replacing the in ceiling speakers with Sonos ones and then the whole system Sonos.  Again hard to justify with an already exisiting system.

any advice or tips from more experts.

Thanks .

icon

Best answer by Airgetlam 31 May 2020, 07:11