Question

Advice on setting up music library on NAS drive to control with iphone sonos app?

I am a brand new sonos user looking for advice on the best way to set up my entire music library on a NAS that I can control with my iphone sonos app even when my computer is turned off. Is this possible/easy to do?
If so, questions include:
1. What is a good choice for a NAS (and for drives to go with it)? I will need to purchase these and don't know much about them yet. From my preliminary online reading, I think I am looking for a 2 bay NAS to use primarily for this purpose and also computer file regular backups and photo storage.
2. Is there a preferred method/software for ripping CDs to the NAS (or my computer too for that matter) to achieve better sound quality? Is it fine to just use itunes set to Apple Lossless or is there a better way/better software assuming I have plenty of memory on the NAS drive?
3. Other questions that I should be asking but didn't think of since I am new to sonos and NAS devices?
Thanks very much for any advice from the sonos community

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

25 replies

Passeggiata.

As you are using an iPhone, I assume you store your music in iTunes. Therefore I would buy yourself something like a Netgear 2-bay NAS and simply copy/paste or drag/drop your iTunes music folder onto your NAS to begin with.

The Netgear NAS boxes have a built in backup/copying section too and eventually you can use that to update/sync between your PC's music library and your NAS music library... It works on a timestamp method, so only the new music files are copied over and that means the library sync-time is unusually very short.

The Netgear site recommends the different drives brands/models for use with each NAS box, but there is also a Netgear forum, where more information can be found.