Sonos should offer a BBC iPlayer Radio App in the controller

• 25 September 2014
  • 297 replies

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

297 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +22
It's easier now for the.bbc because all they need to do is incorporate Sonos casting ability into the iplayer app like Spotify has done vs having to write new app for within the Sonos app. That is why users should make their voice heard with the BBC that they want this feature incorporated in their app.
I've purchased a Bose. Sonos is far too much of a faff!

I also have a DJ set up in another room that was becoming too complicated to link to a sonos but with a Bose and a £20 Bluetooth transmitter this issue is resolved.

I'm a tech geek but within a day of looking into sonos I was dramatically put off.
Userlevel 7
Badge +22
I'm not sure what a Faff is but probably not flattering. Sonos isn't for every need. It fulfills the need of many people but some people will find other solutions are better for their situation. Doesn't mean Sonos is not the best option for other people's needs.
Bose is fine if Bluetooth is what you need. They don't have near as many music services, so native app support is a plus. But I suspect Sonos' Direct Control could tip the scales back in that area. The real problem is it's been plagued by reports of unreliability, and the entire SoundTouch line is on its third revamp since it was introduced in 2013. Three different versions in a little over 3 years would worry me, but good luck with your choice.
Can I add another plea for BBC iPlayer integration with SONOS systems? It's such a big gap in the UK market and means I won't be expanding my set up any further.
SONOS - can you break your silence and give us a statement on iPlayer please?
Userlevel 7
Badge +17
They will say their API is open to everyone.