Answered

Problem finding correct path to music library

• 25 January 2020
  • 7 replies

Hi i’m trying to add my music library folder but when i enter the path nothing happens, literally. I’m guessing I must be entering the path incorrectly? I’m entering \\imac-2019\mybookstudio\music2

but no response. Any help appreciated.

David

icon

Best answer by Marto69 25 January 2020, 15:24

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

7 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +2

I am no expert but I have a music library all hooked up. My actual music is about 5 folders down in my NAS drive but the route on my controller is only 2 folders down - and it finds all music files below that - so perhaps if you go \\mac-2019\mybookstudio it will work? 

Userlevel 1
Badge +2

And just in case...please ensure “imac-2019” is actually turned on and on the same network.

Userlevel 1
Badge +2

And this could help

https://support.sonos.com/s/article/2401?language=en

I would also perhaps take the dash (-) out of the device name (iMac-2019) too, because those type of netbios charachters can occasionally cause issues… just in case !! Oh and then change the shared path accordingly.

many thanks for the advice. I used \\imac-2019\mybookstudio and I'm getting the message ‘ THE COMPUTER IMAC-2019 REFUSED TO LET THE SONOS PRODUCT CONNECT TO IT’ 

I've switched on all the options I can find in ‘sharing’ but no joy.

It wouldn’t accept the iMac 2019 without the dash incidentally.

cheers

David

many thanks for the advice. I used \\imac-2019\mybookstudio and I'm getting the message ‘ THE COMPUTER IMAC-2019 REFUSED TO LET THE SONOS PRODUCT CONNECT TO IT’ 

I've switched on all the options I can find in ‘sharing’ but no joy.

It wouldn’t accept the iMac 2019 without the dash incidentally.

cheers

David