MQA, Tidal and Sonos?

Userlevel 5
Badge +9
Tidal is now making available a limited selection of MQA streams to its hi-fi subscribers, making it the first major streaming service to do so. Perhaps it's time to revisit the topic of whether Sonos will support MQA?

142 replies

Tidal hasn't gone belly up yet? They've been bleeding cash since they started, never attracted enough subscribers to be cashflow positive. Sonos user base on Tidal? Can't be significant enough for Sonos to want to reengineer everything for something as dubious as MQA.
Userlevel 5
Badge +9
This is not intended to be a discussion about Tidal's cash flow. One might assume that other services will experiment with MQA, now that the ball is rolling. I realize Sonos is not big on sound quality innovation, but if MQA proves promising and could see wider adoption in the future, why not consider it? I have no experience with MQA; I'm merely curious about Sonos plans. An earlier discussion on the topic was shut down with the suggestion that it be revived when somebody actually offers MQA streaming. Well, that day has arrived.
(Sonos streaming users) ≫ (Sonos lossless streaming users) ≫ (Sonos TIDAL users) ≫ (Sonos TIDAL users to whom MQA matters)

In short the proportion of Sonos' customer base affected must be miniscule so, IMO, they wouldn't touch MQA even if it wasn't proprietary.

Besides Sonos have said "There are arguments you could make about deeper bit depth, but we are unable to make a meaningful argument on sample rate." MQA is primarily about sample rate.
Userlevel 7
Badge +21